Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Russia Bans Food Imports

So perusing the various news sites and found this:

Russia bans all U.S. food, EU fruit and vegetables in sanctions response; NATO fears invasion

My question is whether my assumption that while this will hurt American farmers, I would think that the subsequent jump of food prices in Russia would hurt Russia more than it would hurt the U.S. correct? I am no expert in this part of the economy and the full nature of the agriculture trade between the U.S. and Russia. so I definitely appreciate any replies to further enlighten me on this.

American farmers will be barely hurt, local market is big enough and overall export volume not that big. Some polish and greek guys will have to look for new market for at least a year.

Things are not so well on this side of a curtain.
    Prices on pork already raised by 20%, more to come.
    Russian agriculture is heavily seasoned. We import even apples of some breeds that freeze in our winters and 70% of overall fruit consumption comes from import, most of it in winter and spring. Fruit conservation comes to mind. The problem is even southern Russia regions being too cold for certain fruits and simply not large enough to produce all fruits needed. That would be problem with capital P. Olive oil lands here also.
    Some high-end beef and milk products can be just ignored but prices will rise on all that even more nevertheless.
    Vegetables again become seasoned stuff and it will took a winter without them to relearn conservation techniques, run new facilities and proper production volume, the demand will be enormous and prices will hit the ceiling. After this first winter we can no longer need imported stuff if we learn from that.

Some fruits and vegetables can be imported from south-east Asia, though I'm concerned about the quality. Brazilian and Argentinian meat will do well. All new trade ties will take time to build.