Zimbabwe unveils 10 billion dollar note

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Zimbabwe unveils 10 billion dollar note

Wow... a really sad state of affairs in Zimbabwe. I'm not an expert on the country, but at one time it really seemed like it was one of the more well-to-do states in Africa. I think a coup against King Bob is long overdue.
    Zimbabwe unveils 10 billion dollar note

ZIMBABWE'S central bank has introduced a 10 billion dollar banknote, worth $20 on the black market, to try to ease desperate cash shortages.
    Prices are doubling every day and food and fuel are in short supply in Zimbabwe. A cholera epidemic has killed over 1000 people and deadlock between President Robert Mugabe and the opposition has put hopes of ending the crisis on hold.

Hyper-inflation has forced the central bank to continue to release new banknotes which quickly become almost worthless.

New Z$1 billion and Z$5 billion notes were also put into circulation and the monthly cash withdrawal limit was increased fivefold to Z$10 billion.

"The increase in cash withdrawal limits is set to go a long way in improving workers' access to their money," the Herald said.

But previous issues of new banknotes have done little to curb the cash crunch faced by Zimbabweans, who often line up for hours outside banks to withdraw barely enough to buy a loaf of bread.

Critics blame the economic meltdown on mismanagement by Mugabe's government, including the seizure and redistribution of thousands of white-owned farms. The once thriving agricultural sector has fallen into ruin.

The veteran Zimbabwean leader, in power since independence from Britain in 1980, says Western sanctions are the main cause of the economic crisis and worsening humanitarian picture.
    http://www.news.com.au/heraldsun/sto...012751,00.html
    "Every man has his weakness. Mine was always just cigarettes."

Originally posted by Ironduke View Post
    I think a coup against King Bob is long overdue.