Viewpoints on Douglas MacArthur

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Viewpoints on Douglas MacArthur

I just finished re-reading William Manchester’s biography of Douglas MacArthur American Ceasar. Again I came away with a negative impression of the man. I’ve read a few other works about this man and they seemed to confirm my first impression. His actions in the 30’s against the Bonus demonstrators? His leaving his men at Baatan to the tender mercies of the Japanese. Both instances could be covered by his obeying orders. But isn’t it a military truism that there are some orders an officer shouldn’t obey? Also his handling of the situation in Manila during the first days of the war? Yet the Inchon landing, showed pure brilliance and daring,
    I admit freely that I’m a military layman, but there are people on this board with a military background, and I would appreciate it if they could give me a proper military perspective of the man
    When we blindly adopt a religion, a political system, a literary dogma, we become automatons. We cease to grow. - Anais Nin

A brilliant WWI style General with the luck of fighting an enemy WWI army with a WWII style army during WWII. He would have been toast in the ETO.

Comment

An arrogant, egotistical, and vain-glorious jackasss.

Comment

I am 2/3 through the same book. Ignoring the man and focusing on the circumstance, I find it fascinating that after the Japanese surrender we had on hand perhaps the only man alive who could fill the role that MacArthur did.

-dale

Comment

Officer of Engineers - He would have been toast in the ETO.
          M21Sniper- An arrogant, egotistical, and vain-glorious jackasss