Improve a historical battleship

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Improve a historical battleship

There's been many a fumble in the history of naval design, and battleships have not been exempt. I thought it would be interesting to explore some of the possibilities if we were in charge of the development of historical battleship classes, and still had the benefit of hindsight to guide us.

Now, if I was a Royal Navy designer of the 1930s, in charge of the King George V class, I would've tried to pay attention to the fact that the Germans and Japanese were most definetely breaking the limits of the Washington Naval Treaty, and seeing that I wouldn't not have held our designs to those limits which greatly weakened Britain as a battlefleet power. Most likely, I would've armed the KGVs with nine BL 15 inch/42 Mk I naval guns, the same used on the Queen Elizabeths and on HMS Hood, and possibly the Royal Navy's best battleship gun, certainly the most balanced and longest lasting in service. On the Allied side, the King George V class was already the best protected overall (the armour belt was 2 inches thicker than on the Iowas), and the extra firepower would've greatly benefitted the class, and increased their potency against German and Italian 15 inch ships like Bismarck and Vittorio Veneto. Additionally, the extra range of the 15 inch/42 would've been of great use in the longer ranged engagements of the Pacific Theatre, if the Royal Navy was called upon to take a larger battlefleet role in the Pacific in this slightly alternate reality.

For starters:

Lengthen her hull out to 800-850 feet, make her beamier then 103 feet atleast to 108 or 110 without bulging the hull and make her draft deeper and increase tonage to atleast 45,000 tons-48,000 tons..