usmc individual weapon

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• usmc individual weapon

can somebody explain me what gun uses usmc?m16 or m4?

Most of the pics that I see of Marines show them carrying M-16A4, I have seen pics of Marines carrying M4s, but Im pretty sure that the M-16A4 is the standard right now. Im no expert, but essentially an A4 is a M-16A2 with a removable carrying handle and rails for mounting all the toys. The most common optic that I see on USMC rifles is ACOG, but I can think of a few posters here who probably can tell you a lot more on this subject than I can.

Comment

I'm under the impression that it's the M16A4 is standard issue, but there are probably a fair amount of M4s in service with the Marine Corps as well. Then again, that's just a guess.

Comment

Is not the M4 replacing the M16, especially when troops are deployed to Iraq?

Comment

The M-16A4 won the USMC competition back in 2002 I think, and is standard issue. There are a number of M4s in service with the USMC, but I am not sure how they are distributed. Its the Army that has pretty much completely gone over to the M4.

Edit: Just found this from Marine Corps Times in 2007

The Marine Corps is revamping its weapons distribution among leathernecks, issuing the M4 carbine to career enlisted Marines and officers who previously carried the M9 pistol, according to a Corps-wide message released last Friday.

The new assignment policy, announced in MarAdmin 378/07 states that staff sergeants and up, along with second lieutenants through lieutenant colonels and chief warrant officers, will now be issued the M4, which is essentially a smaller version of the M16. Marines in those paygrades previously were issued the M9 pistol.

Colonels and up will continue to carry the M9. Privates through sergeants will still be issued the M16A4. Assignment of automatic rifles will not change.