Motorcycle helmets

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Motorcycle helmets

Here in New Hampshire; as in most all the states, there has been an alarming rise in motorcycle deaths. Yet, unlike most states with a knee jerk reaction aimed at helmets, New Hampsha' has put more emphasis on rider education.

I've been riding for nearly 35 years and though I rarely don a helmet, there have been times when I've put on voluntarily. Personally, I believe rider education, leather, and riding as if you're invisible will do much more to keep you accident free and alive. We live in a world where the limits are being pushed from every angle. I see kids on these rockets that go from 0 - coffin in 4.3 seconds, doing some really stupid things, such as wheelies at 80mph on the highway or two + bikes racing down the middle of main street, oblivious to side traffic.

Anyway, I'm interested in your thoughts, especially if you ride.

I'm a new rider as of 2 summers ago. I wouldn't dream of not putting on a helmet when riding, but I also wouldn't dream of feeling a law was necessary to get me to do it.

It's my skull. ;)

-dale

Comment

Originally posted by dalem
      I'm a new rider as of 2 summers ago. I wouldn't dream of not putting on a helmet when riding, but I also wouldn't dream of feeling a law was necessary to get me to do it.

It's my skull. ;)

-dale
      I feel that way, too. I say if people do not want to wear helmets or seat belts they should not have to (seat belts for kids only and for adults that have kids in the car as a flying adult can kill a seatbelted kid).
      "To dream of the person you would like to be is to waste the person you are."-Sholem Asch

"I always turn to the sports page first, which records people's accomplishments. The front page has nothing but man's failures."-Earl Warren

"I didn't intend for this to take on a political tone. I'm just here for the drugs."-Nancy Reagan, when asked a political question at a "Just Say No" rally