Registration Question

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Registration Question

I'm a bit puzzled on federal firearms regulations. I was recently given a pistol by my father as a Christmas gift, an old Sig Sauer that he has owned for a very long time and is registered in his name in Maryland. I live in Michigan, but I've never bothered to get a Michigan ID because I'm a student. For various circumstances that I won't get into, it makes more sense to stay ID'd in Maryland for me right now.

My question is this, how imperative is it that I register the weapon to my name, in my city, ASAP? It would be best if I could wait until summer time to get my crap in order in Maryland, retaining my MD identification until that time, but I don't want to get in serious trouble over this needlessly. My understanding is that where a gun is registered, and in who's possession it is in, isn't as important as it simply being registered and accounted for in the federal registry. Is this accurate?

Your gun is not "registered" to begin with. Gun registration is illegal. The only paperwork on the purchase is for backround check and it stays at the gun store. Your father can legally give you the firearm if you are legal to own it in the state in which you posess it. Types of guns legal for posession vary state to state. Those are the only rules that matter.

Comment

In Michigan, a person "shall not purchase, carry, or transport a pistol in this state without first having obtained a license for the pistol," as prescribed in MCL 28.422. These licenses shall be obtained by the local police agency. If the city, township, or village does not have an organized police agency, the license shall be obtained by the county sheriff department.

There is an exception for a person licensed in Michigan to carry a concealed pistol. He or she must obtain a Pistol Sales Record (RI-060) any time he or she purchases or otherwise acquires a pistol, pursuant to MCL 28.422a.