We are aware of the issue, and have notified "the powers that be", but until their reply I can't do anything about it.
I've notice that if I do a google search for 'worldaffairsboard" and then click on the google displayed link, I get redirected to some page called "file2store.info", which is full of nasty pop ups and other nonsense. It does this on multiple computers and even my phone.
Further, google now displays this site as a page "which can harm your computer".
Any ideas?
We are aware of the issue, and have notified "the powers that be", but until their reply I can't do anything about it.
When using my laptop I've been getting a full screen Google Warnings page on possible Malware or Virus downloads if I visit this site. I can still visit using my iPhone but hesitant to do so on my laptop.
It's actually an old problem, a script that redirects people who Google search WAB and then try to reach it through the link provided.
The solution that consistantly works for me is a bookmark/favorite with the actual address of WAB - http://www.worldaffairsboard.com/
This file2store problem in google searches for WAB is several years old.
As a side note: I wonder who would consider storing their files on such a malicious site.
"If your plan is for one year, plant rice. If your plan is for ten years, plant trees.
If your plan is for one hundred years, educate children."
I usually access WAB through a link in my Favorites Folder for the Ghost Fleet Thread. That's when the Google Warning page pops up even though I am not using a Google Search. I am using Google Chrome as my browser so that may be the trigger? As mentioned before I don't get the Warning Page when using my iPhone which uses Safari as its browser. However if I do a Google Search with my iPhone I do get the results page that shows WAB and the warning 'This site may harm your computer' just below.
Last edited by dmwnc1959; 23 May 12, at 16:50.
Yes, to he best of my undestanding. But I think the warning might also be triggered for firefox users. IE & Opera did when I tested it.I am using Google Chrome as my browser so that may be the trigger?
So should I not access WAB using my laptop as a precautionary measure to avoid any possible damage?
The danger comes from the redirect, not WAB itself. WAB itself is not more risky to use today than it was last week. The difference is that the (already existing) redirect from google to the malware site via an exploit was discovered by a Google script.
Actually, there's also a recent issue with a malicious ad script being distributed through the OpenX ad provider. Don't know if WAB uses them, but this was an issue with other sites getting blacklisted by Google.
As for the "malicious content" warning by browsers, Chrome, Firefox and Safari all use the Google blacklist. IE doesn't, browsers for iphone/android apparently don't either.
Guys, just now my firefox blocked WAB as an attack site.
StopBadware - What is Badware?Your new search status fyiWorld Affairs Board
www.worldaffairsboard.com/
This site may harm your computer.
The World Affairs Board is the premier forums for the discussion of the pressing geopolitical issues of our time. Topics include foreign & defense policy, ...
Where free unions and collective bargaining are forbidden, freedom is lost.”
~Ronald Reagan
I think the risk is it will scare folks away
Where free unions and collective bargaining are forbidden, freedom is lost.”
~Ronald Reagan
I visit WAB a multiple times a day. I might get redirected once or twice to file2store. Today I was getting the below message which is what I would say others are now getting. You can bypass it, just click 'Ignore this warning' if you want to. I am using Firefox on Mac OS X Snow Leopard.
There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)
Share this thread with friends: