Critical advice readers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Critical advice readers

Ok peoples of WAB here is why I am asking first: I have been sailing for nearly 2 months now to escape the 'lock in' and avoid other connections with insanity and what started as 'bed time story' for my small people based on my own historical knowledge has become 25/26,000 words of Chapter 1 Book 1 of a fictional history - all events happened as they did but conversations and a few characters are invented while the political differences and allegiances of each of the main 'parties' are presumed from the factual events.

The main story follows Edmund 'Ironside' who became King of England in 1016 and follows that of his ancestors but starts in 1014 when Sweyn 'Forkbeard' dies. Edmund's elder brother dies later in 1014 leaving him to inherit when their father Ethelred 'the Unready' dies and Cnut then becomes King and send Edmund's two young sons into exile (probably with the intention of them have 'disappear' forever) but how they and their line survive until returned the throne in the person of Henry ll when he becomes King in 1154. I have not got beyond 1014 yet though!

There are secret 'loyalist' guardians/wardens and their ancestors who hold an heirloom which is at first believed to Offa's sword but later revealed to be 'excalibur' that Arthur drew from the stone etc and this secret society intervene in the years to come believing when they discover what the sword really is the words of one of their princes to be a prophecy.

It covers at present the disagreements between King Ethelred and his elder sons that have lead to the current war in 1014 (when the King is in Normandy and only his elder sons have remained to fight or die).

So what do I ask? Only that you read what I have so far written and give me your thoughts.

There is a list of the main characters and notes as to place names but that you are free to read but it is not of course obligatory.