• Show
Clear All

• Oil Futures Negative

Click image for larger version

Name:	_111866166_wti.oil_20042020-nc.png
Views:	3
Size:	257.9 KB
ID:	1485824

What are the consequences? How long will it last?

It’s mainly a storage issue.

European Brent fell to $27, but West Texas Intermediate hit $11. That’s the May futures contract, which requires taking delivery (or selling on) in Cushing Oklahoma, and Cushing’s full. Brent crude can be delivered to multiple locations, so very little storage concern.

Sell May ($11), buy June ($23).
    Trust me?
    I'm an economist!

Comment

How about the costs of 'fracking' and the Muscovite spot price (and income). From a basic glance it makes fracking unprofitable and will have some nasty consequences for Muscovite revenue.

Comment

Originally posted by snapper View Post
        How about the costs of 'fracking' and the Muscovite spot price (and income). From a basic glance it makes fracking unprofitable and will have some nasty consequences for Muscovite revenue.
        I'm sure that makes you as unhappy as it makes me ...

At $11/bbl, a lot of extraction activity stops.
        But, we aren't at $11/bbl on the spot market, not yet.
        Trust me?
        I'm an economist!

Comment

Originally posted by snapper View Post
          What are the consequences? How long will it last?

It's a warning shot

Economies aren't going to need much oil any time soon sending sellers into more debt.

This also means its easier for economies to recover as fuel costs are rock bottom.

That's the upside.

Comment

The downside is that anyone depending on oil is going to slash consumption of other goods and services right down to the bone.
            Trust me?
            I'm an economist!

Comment

Bad times for sellers no doubt.

The part where the seller has to pay the buyer to take the oil was a surprise : )

Comment

Originally posted by Double Edge View Post
                Bad times for sellers no doubt.