Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

What's wrong with Hong Kong (and how to fix it)

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• What's wrong with Hong Kong (and how to fix it)

I've been writing this book for the past 3-1/2 years, and earlier this week I declared it done.
    Now, I need to find a publisher.

Brief description: An analysis of the constitutional, political, economic, and institutional short-comings of Hong Kong’s ‘one country, two systems’ arrangement, and how to begin the process of restoring the fortunes of a once great business and financial center.

Category: Hong Kong; China; current events

Audience: The primary audience is assumed to have a basic familiarity with Hong Kong and its transition from a British Crown Colony to the first Special Administrative Region of the People’s Republic of China. The secondary audience will be university libraries and course reading lists, research institutions, think tanks, and government and diplomatic readers.

Purpose and need: The constraints imposed on political development by the Basic Law, interference by Mainland officials in the SAR’s internal affairs, and the structural limitations of an executive-led government have brought Hong Kong to the brink of being ungovernable. The Legislative Council periodically goes on strike, increasing numbers of young people are taking to the streets to express their dissatisfaction, and the ever-present threat of Mainland interference looms larger each year. Understanding the causes, and possible solutions to the current state of affairs requires examination of the roots of the present conflict and the interests of those encouraging their continuation.

Current interest: Since Mrs. Carrie Lam took office in early 2017, the crack-down on dissent has intensified, raising comment and concern in London, Washington, and among international pressure groups.

Competing works: