Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

From Bo Xilai to Zhou Yongkang: The End of the Shanghai Clique ?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• From Bo Xilai to Zhou Yongkang: The End of the Shanghai Clique ?

The purge of Jiang Zemin’s (江泽民) Shanghai Clique is picking up speed. Just days after the end of Bo Xilai’s (薄熙来) corruption trial, before the former politburo princeling and Chongqing party secretary has even been sencented, former politburo standing committee (PBSC) member and national security tzar Zhou Yongkang (周永康) has become the highest ranking party member to face discipline since the fall of Zhao Ziyang in 1989.

“Business as usual for Zhou Yongkang?” David Brandurski, April 4, 2012, China Media Project, Business as usual for Zhou Yongkang? - China Media Project accessed August 31, 2013.
    Trust me?
    I'm an economist!

Could you expand on your understanding of who Zhou Yongkang is or what he stands for (if anything).

Comment

Zhou Yongkang spent the bulk of his career in the energy industry, first petroleum exploration in the North-east (1966-85), then Petroleum Industry Minister (1985-88), back into business at China National Petroleum Corp (1988-98), Lands and Resources Minister (1998-99), party boss of Sichuan (1999-2002), Public Security Minister (2002-07) and Politburo Standing Committee member in charge of internal security (2007-12).

Next up: Jiang Jiemin, long time oil man turned state assets administrator now under investigation for “serious disciplinary violations” . . . i.e., corruption. He and Zhou Yongkang were in the Shandong petroleum administration together in the early 1990s.