Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Current Naval Power

Hi mates,
    In another forum I participate in, a French guy has been bragging about how great French navy and it's technologies are, and how they can send an invasion fleet in IOR to take over the Andaman Islands easily.
    I am not a naval expert, so I would like to know what the forum members here think about current naval powers in general and France in particular.
    This is NOT intended to be a x vs y thread. I am not trying to get a "my d1ck is bigger than yours" discussion, but I would love to know whether in todays world it is possible for any navy, (except for the USN) to send an invasion fleet and take over an Indian territory, and if so, how can they do it.
    Ace o Spades in Ninth Hell

Nuke Karwar, Mumbai and Vishakapatnam. Mission done.

Comment

I said "invasion" - not mutual destruction, short of USA and Russia, I don't think any other country would like to start an offensive against India by nuking the major naval bases ...
      I maybe wrong, but not crazy
      :D

Comment

It might be theoretically possible - but it would be political suicide for the organization in charge to try and take territory from a country which isn't doing anything belligerent - even more so if nukes were used. I don't think even the US or Russia could get away with it. I would think France would be even less likely to.
        sigpic"If your plan is for one year, plant rice. If your plan is for ten years, plant trees.
        If your plan is for one hundred years, educate children."

Comment

Well, i could imagine such an operation as a side theater in a wider conflict. Say an increased intensity conflict with China? The PLAN, while as a whole it's not geared towards projection, probably could still field a rather impressionable force into that theater provided Malaysia doesn't trouble this op in the Straits. Especially if they ever get a real carrier going.