Question about strategy

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about strategy

During the revolutionary war at the battle of bunker hill, why was the order given "dont shoot until you see the whites of their eyes". Wouldn't it make sense to begin firing as soon as the British soldiers were in range to eliminate as many of their forces as possible before they got close enough to kill any colonial forces? I have noticed this same tactic in a few movies like lord of the rings, the second one. What is the reasoning behind this? I have no military strategy background, unless you count paintball ;) , so therefor I can not determine how this makes sense at all. The only reasoning I can determine is that they were low on ammunition and wanted to make sure they did not miss a shot.
    thanks
    -MARX

OH and yes I do realize that lord of the rings is just a movie and should not be used for strategic reference.
    thanks
    -MARX

Comment

Marx,

first of all a question for you. Can you tell me the difference between "Strategy" and "Tactics"?

I suspect the answerto your question is Human Psychology. It is much more disheartening to the advancing lines of soldiers to have the entire front rank fall en mass as opposed to 1 or 2 soldiers here and there as would be the case if firing commenced as soon as the advancing line were technically within lethal range.
      Regards

Arty
      "Admit nothing, deny everything, make counter-accusations".- Motto of the Gun Crew who have just done something incredibly stupid!!!!

Comment

first of all a question for you. Can you tell me the difference between "Strategy" and "Tactics"?
        strategy is the long-term, high-level thinking necessary to achieve a given objective where as tactics are actionable, granular-level messages and deliverables that support and drive strategy.
        I now realize the mistake I made, it was a tactic rather than strategy, am I correct?