Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Small arms in Australia. Recommendations?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Small arms in Australia. Recommendations?

Hi everyone. I will be soon getting my gun license and am looking for a good rifle to go hunting with. What do you recommend for an absolute beginner to the "field"/area. I am only interested/able to purchase bolt-action rifles, due to laws and expense constraints. So no AR-15s like you lucky Yanks.
    "Who says organization, says oligarchy"

What sort of game?What budget?Scoped or not?What's the general configuration of the terrain in your area(is it open field,or is it mostly wooded) Do you want it to have dual use(ie. precision shooting at range )or its only for hunting?
    Those who know don't speak
    He said to them, "But now if you have a purse, take it, and also a bag; and if you don't have a sword, sell your cloak and buy one. Luke 22:36

Comment

Small to Medium game, budget is around 2000$ AUD. The terrain in the intended region is lightly wooded/hilly if that helps. As for purpose, simply hunting for now.

Comment

I'm big on the idea that it's not the gun,it's the shooter.I'm not to familiar with American made rifles,except the Remington 700,which is widespread and you have tons of armorers and options if you want to improve it later.
        Higher end European rifles,like Mauser,Blaser or Antonio Zoli are out of reach from a financial pov. but in my neck of the woods there is a saying you can't go wrong with a CZ(Ceska Zrojovka).Given you constraints, Steyr Sport(~13-1400 euro) or Steyr Scout could also be ok.There are of course hundreds of,if not thousands of other posibilities,but I only mentioned what I shot and liked.
        A Russian made gun,like a Saiga or Baikal could also be fine,since you're a beginner and those could be found cheaper than the rest,but they are not bad weapons.