Destroyers - Fletcher Class

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Destroyers - Fletcher Class

Introducing a thread for Fletcher Class Destroyers.

A recent tour of the U.S.S. Kidd, ( DD-661) moored, Baton Rouge, LA provided the motivation to create a thread addressing a specific class of naval ship that generally is accepted by students of warships to be well designed.

During the day long inspection of the Kidd, ( during low river stage) I was able to connect with the function of design for this class of naval vessel. Of note, many of the orginal features of the "as-built" Kidd remain today, or have been modified to "as built" condition.
    The course of this thread will extend with limits insuring that abusing bandwidth does not occur.

Note for the academic historians, I'm not an expert on the Fletcher class, nor have I ever been charge with building a naval warship. The submittals that follow are for the viewer who desires to explore a ship they may not have access to in as great of detail as one would like (as will be provided through illustrations / pictures) or would care to join in participating with information that compliment the effort undertaken.

Enough said:

Step 1 : Introduction
    Attached Files

I have read, and found in my own design exercises that it is harder to design a destroyer than it is to design a larger ship, getting everything to fit and juggling things on a small displacement is the issue.

I beleive the Fletcher class was an excellent design at the time, I look forward to your presentation
    Last edited by USSWisconsin; 01 Oct 10,, 21:58.
    sigpic"If your plan is for one year, plant rice. If your plan is for ten years, plant trees.
    If your plan is for one hundred years, educate children."

Comment

Originally posted by USSWisconsin View Post