Oregon Stimulus plan miserable failure

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Oregon Stimulus plan miserable failure

I didn't even know we had a stimulus plan, and I am a business owner in Portland.

Just saw this on last night's news.
    State officials boast more than 7,500 jobs have been "created or retained" by the 2009 Legislature's trumpeted economic stimulus package, a feat just shy of the 8,000-plus jobs reported for Oregon under the far bigger federal stimulus program.

Yet Oregon reports spending about $93 million so far compared with $1.3 billion -- yes, with a "b" -- in federal stimulus spending in the state.

The state makes an eye-opening claim, and raises an obvious question: How did the "Go Oregon" package, as it is called, outperform the federal program by such a huge margin?

The short answer: It didn't.

An analysis by The Oregonian shows that, on average, Go Oregon jobs lasted about two weeks and did little or nothing to dent the state's bleak employment outlook. It also shows the state counted anyone working on a stimulus-related project as a job, regardless of whether the worker was already employed and in no danger of being laid off.

Furthermore, one in four workers employed in Go Oregon jobs was not a resident of the state. The analysis also shows a disproportionately high amount of the stimulus money was spent in Marion and Polk counties -- two areas of the state favored by Senate President Peter Courtney, D-Salem, who championed the measure.

Courtney and other Democratic leaders pushed for the spending as a desperately needed jobs bill, saying it would put thousands to work quickly at a time when Oregon's unemployment rate was among the highest in the nation. The plan was to borrow $172 million, then spend the money on hundreds of long-neglected maintenance projects, from mossy roofs to peeling paint.