Your custom PC

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Your custom PC

I'm not sure how many of you build your own PCs, I've been building them for myself and others since 2002. I'm not hardcore into it or anything, more of a casual thing.

One thing that I'm rather particularly picky about is the quality of my components. I find that purchasing a system off the shelf is not only more expensive, I also don't really know what I'm getting. I generally stay a six months or so behind the leading edge of computer technology when purchasing components, for financial reasons and this also has the benefit of being able to purchase proven hardware.

My custom PC:
    • Case: Antec 900 (link)
    • Motherboard: ASUS P5Q Pro LGA 775 Intel P45 ATX Intel Motherboard (link)
    • CPU: Intel Core 2 Duo e8400 3.0Ghz / 1333Mhz FSB (link)
    • Memory: G.SKILL 4GB (2X2 GB) DDR2 800 (link)
    • Hard Drive: 160GB SATA Seagate Barracuda 7200.9 (Vista 32, SATA 1.5Gb) and 120GB 7200RPM Western Digital Caviar (XP 32, IDE 133)
    • Video Card: XFX GeForce 9800 GT 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 (link) (upgradeable to dual cards)
    • Optical Drive: SAMSUNG Black 22X DVD+R (link) & 16x Lite-On DVD-ROM
    • Power Supply: Thermaltake 420W ATX12v (link to very similar product)

• Planned upgrades: Dual SATA 3.0Gb Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 in a RAID0 configuration
    Attached Files
    "Every man has his weakness. Mine was always just cigarettes."

Impresive, prety impresive.
    How much did it cost you?
    Here comes the silent killer

Comment

I have never used G.Skill memory. I've always gone with Mushkin or Corsair.

Be careful when going with RAID 0. When one drive goes, everything goes. And there will be added difficulty with imaging that drive or cloning that drive.

Try a Radeon 45xx video card, better performance and lower power consumption, at a slight cost premium.

Of course if you don't game then any video card, even the onboard, is plenty enough.