Thread: Any CIA employees/vets on here?

Senior Contributor

Any CIA employees/vets on here?

I'm a mechanical engineer that's considering applying. From their website, it looks like I could apply for either an Analysis or Sci & Tech position. All I have is a BSME and no further education after that, been a professional for 4 years. No language skills other than Southern English and a small amount of Spanish.

Recommend the organization? Don't?

Probably get declined? Do they shy away from professional private hires?

Administrator
    Lei Feng Protege
    Defense Professional
    rj1,

you'd probably do better going for sci and tech. you should get in touch with a CIA recruiter- he'll be able to tell you better what's open at the agency and what is not.

i have to warn you though, the process takes anywhere from 9 months to 15 months. 2-3 months to pass through initial interview and testing; then the rest of the time getting a TS/SCI clearance. you'll need to pass a lifestyle polygraph, which is a nasty animal.

language skills are a bonus; they will pay you extra $$ if you have second/third language capability. from what you say, you can probably qualify to start at a GS-8 or GS-9 level, or approximately 50K a year.

finally, they don't shy away from professional hires- they actually like that. however, i reveal no secrets by saying that yeah, the "decline" rate is quite high- mostly due to the security clearance issue. good luck...
    There is a cult of ignorance in the United States, and there has always been. The strain of anti-intellectualism has been a constant thread winding its way through our political and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that "My ignorance is just as good as your knowledge."- Isaac Asimov

I worked HUMINT MI and work closely with some ex-CIA folks now. There are two groups of people in the CIA, case officers and all the others.