Micro-wave Mystery?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Micro-wave Mystery?

Okay I'm not a scientist, but this is weird. I've noticed that when I boil water on a stove or open flame and add a tea bag nothing happens, yet put that same tea bag in a cup of water that was boiled in a micro-wave oven and the water starts to froth and bubble over. If water boils at the same temperature all the time what is occurring here?

Wow, guess I,ll get my son to research it.

Comment

Hmm.

I can only speculate that the stove-boiled water has less latent heat because it's brought to a boil by convection, i.e. heat exchange, whereas the nuked water has been brought to a boil by direct radiative methods, i.e. spinning the water molecules.

So when you drop in the teabag the nuked water has more energy to exchange with the bag.

That's just a guess, though.

-dale

Comment

Thanks dude.

Comment

i think dale is right, but water is still isn,t understood entirely, unlike many think it is.

there was an experement, in a clean water, was dropped an sealed glass container with pioson, there was no chemical contact of poison and water, yet after a while clean water became poison, it was given to lab mice, they all died. how did water become poison?

also, there was an invention of sonic boiler, many years ago, it was documented, tested, and anyone wishing to duplicate it, did so and results are confermed.