• Time
  • Show
Clear All

• India's economic report card

India's economic report card

By Kaushik Basu
    Professor of economics, Cornell University

India's per capita income is a tad higher than sub-Saharan Africa's
    For non-economists the World Development Indicators (WDI), published annually by the World Bank, must seem like a cure for insomnia. It is long, is written on large-format paper, crammed with numbers and consists of very few words.

But, as an economist, I find the WDI to be a very valuable source book.

The paucity of words means I need have no fear of being burdened with somebody's expert opinion (and can merely inflict mine on you). While impressionistic writings and generalisations have their role, and pure statistics has its own risks, the latter often helps us cut through popular hype to see economic reality as it is.

The recently released WDI 2006 is a wonderful document for evaluating cross-country performance. This column's focus being what it is, let us begin with South Asia.

Sobering

Given the huge positive press that India has received in recent times, it is sobering to discover that India's per capita income is just a shade higher than that of sub-Saharan Africa, and about one-sixth that of Latin America.

Equally surprising is that 35% of India's population lives on less than $1 a day, which is comparable to Bangladesh's 36% and much worse than Pakistan's 17% and Sri Lanka's 6%.

What then is the basis of optimism for India?

It has everything to do with change.

To check this out statistically I pulled out WDI 1998 from my shelf. This gives data for mainly 1996 and so is unaffected by the East Asian crisis which started in 1997.

In 1996, India had a per capita income of $380, Pakistan $480, Bangladesh $260 and Sri Lanka $740.

Compare these with the figures in the latest WDI (which pertain to 2004).