Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Douglas MacArthur - A brilliant commander or a pathetic faker?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Douglas MacArthur - A brilliant commander or a pathetic faker?

Ever since I study US history, I have learned of the name of Douglas MacArthur - the brilliant commander who had led us to victory in the Pacific... But as I have read more on the subject, I discovered that there is a dark history of this man in which not many Americans know about...

This is a thread in which ask for your opinions of MacArthur, is he the hero who had defeated the Japanese or is he a con artist who was able to gain fame only because of his political connections?

I'm going to post what I know, and what my opinions are first.

The following are some of the errors that MacArthur made that I studied:

1. During his time as the Field Marshal in the Philippines, he had boosted to Washington that his defence were up to speed, with 10 well equipped divisions, as well as a number of forifications. It turns out he has no more than 5 understrength divisions in which were ill-equiped and improper trained for combat.

2. MacArthur had managed to convince a number of key players in Washington that Japanese would not attempt to invade Philippines as it is worthless for Japan. But it turns out that Philippines was one of the primarily objectivce of the Japanese, as it serve as the springboard for them to invade South Pacific, as Philippines lay right in the middle of everything (ex. Malaysia, Dutch East Indians, Austrialia...).

3. Error 1 and 2 had led Washington to make a strategic mistake. Philippines was first considered indefenceable, and was planned to be abandoned altogether. However, thanks to MacArthur's analyazation, Philippines was now going to be held till the Allies counterattack. Marshall was going to ship a few American Divisions over to Philippines, but MacArthur refused and maintained that his defence are adaqute.