Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Eye in the sky

Hi all,
    I'm new here but I'm impressed by the level of discussion here. I'm a mechanical engineer. I'm having an idea for a long time. I was thinking about "eye in the sky". The design is a spherical body with a coaxial-multirotor fans(so no tail rotor) on top of it. The sperical body can be made of a lot of small facets to minimise radar signature (since electric motors are used so no thermal signature either). but the basic idea is to make this helicopter like thing using electric motors and mount a camera on it with indeed the needed actuators for tilt/pan/zoom. the entire size is not going to be bigger than a football for the base body. the rotor fans can be or can not be made of foldable type.
    Now is the point. Having a data link with the ground base of optical fiber and power supply too from the ground by a cable (the cable can be made with both optical fiber data link and electric supply wires embedded in it, and even of the color of sky blue for obvious reasons). So this eliminates the need for mounting the power source on the craft and reduses the size very much(compared to payload) plus gives it practically infinite hovering ability(limited by the supply from ground though).
    Now if this craft can be flown from a outpost or from a vehical(like dingo II which has already got hybrid engines so no add anything for power) upto 2-3 kilometers one should be able to get the view of upto 70 kilometers easily(I haven't flied much only in glider but there I used to get enormus field of view at the altitute of 800 FEET) moreover with 2 meter high body we easily get the view of upto 100 meters.
    Now this has several possible applications. One is indeed recon. since you can take images. One can also scan the field real time. The best part is complete radio silence