Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Indian Naval Expansion

hiya,

i dont have much of information on this,,,but i would like to have a disscussion on how the indian navy is goin to look like in lets 2015

lets focus what kind of player will the navy be, how will the geo poltics play out, giving due considerations to the chinese fleet as well USN,

how is kanwar base as well as the andaman nicobar base going to play,

how the navy is goin to be different from the army and the airforce,

is there any information on indian actually bringing out a 4th wing like the american marines and buying a lot of amphibious assault ships.

ps: sorry for being really really vague, i am a rookie

Josh

RICK i could use some help here,maybe some forecasting or secnario building in very realistic way...

been reading the forum for 4 months so kinda know u r the naval guy

Comment

Ive been mulling over a response. LOL

The Indian situation is complex and problematic. Ship building is slow. Funds tight. Political situation tenuous. Strategic situation a Catch-22. All of course IMHO.

One other note: Confining the Indian Navy to the Indian Ocean is comparatively easy for an opponent as opposed to trying to impair the movements of the USN.

Making predictions about the Indian Navy even a coupla years into the future is difficult much less ten.

But Ill give it a shot force structure-wise anyways.

SUBMARINES

0-1? SSBN (Not likely but possible)
      0-4? SSN (possible but not a sure bet)
      16-20 SSK Russian/German/French(without a doubt)

CARRIERS

1-3 Vikrant class
      1 Vikramaditya (ex-Gorshkov)

DDG

0-6? VLS/Phased-Array radar
      3 Project 15A Bangalore Class
      3 Project 15 Dehli Class

FFG

3-12 Project 17 Shivalik class
      3 Talwar class

FF

3-6 Project 16/16A Godavari/Improved Godavari class (The three early ships have stability issues and could be decommissioned prematurely depending on the pace of current and future shipbuilding programs)

FFL