PDA

View Full Version : Mini 30 opinions wanted

WildLomcevak
02 Jul 05,, 06:43
Hi guys
I am wondering if I just got lucky, or if- like with many things- there is just a lot of hype floating around out there.
A little background. I'm (ugh) nearly 40 years old, with an extensive firearms background. I grew up on a ranch in west Texas- which explains that, lol- and spent almost 7 years as an air force pilot. After seperating from the service, I was a police officer in Texas during the Great Aviation Slump of the late 80's/ early 90's. Although I'm back with an airline these days, my background and job history combined to cause a large number of firearms to apparently breed wantonly in my cabinets. (At least, that's what I tell my wife).
I'm a fairly competent gunsmith, and due to my love for the M1, I have purchased several mini 14's over the years. I avoided the -30 since I heard quite a few folks badmouthing them- I own two AR's aquired at dirt-cheap prices through department letterhead, so I really saw no need, anyway, for yet another "sporting rifle".
A while back, however, my godfather decided he was too old to keep his gun collection, so he gave it to me- quite a haul, he had a beautiful, and extensive, collection of both old and new firearms. Christmas came early for me!
Included in this mother lode was a practically new mini-30. (Serial number is 181+)
To date, I've put about 3000 rounds through it, using both cheap Ruskie ammo purchased at a flea market, and quality ammo. I have yet to have a single feed problem of any type, no misfires...and reliable 2.5" groups at 150 yds.
I hear people comparing the mini's to the AR's...this is ridiculous. It's like comparing a Mustang to a Lamborghini. I can build a Mustang that will snap your head back- but no matter what I do, it will never be a Lambo...nor will it cost me $250,000.