U.S. Economy Added Only 74,000 Jobs in December

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• U.S. Economy Added Only 74,000 Jobs in December

A record low since Nov. 2008, says Labor Department. Some economists call it an outlier; some point to the weather; other notes weak fundamentals.

Finger pointing games shall commence. Yes yes yes.

On a serious note: theories?
    Last edited by Triple C; 10 Jan 14,, 17:02.
    All those who are merciful with the cruel will come to be cruel to the merciful.
    -Talmud Kohelet Rabbah, 7:16.

I wouldn't get my hopes up or jump out the window because of any single month report being good or not so good. The medium and long term trends give a much better indication.
    Removing a single turd from the cesspool doesn't make any difference.

Comment

And then there’s the other way of looking at it:
      Attached Files
      Trust me?
      I'm an economist!

Comment

U6 number is more honest but even it does not account for people no longer attached to the labor force because they've given up. But I never expect you or any krugbot to post honest numbers.

Half a million people gave up.... Of the lucky ones who found jobs- 37,000 of them found only part time jobs. That is what passes for the American dream these days- dreaming of days gone by when being able to keep the light son was a given, not a goal. Mean while krugbots keep fiddling against a flame lit back drop or re-arranging deck chairs to get the best view what they claim is a rising economic tide, not a sinking ship. its so bad that illegal immigration is near zero. The ones here don't want amnesty, they want a bus ticket home....
        Attached Files

Comment