Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Sons of Guns- Discovery Channel Series: Opinions?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Sons of Guns- Discovery Channel Series: Opinions?

A new series called "Sons of Guns" appeared on Discovery channel earlier this year and is into its second season this summer. It's basically about Red Jacket Firearms and how clients come to them about customizing firearms/the owners thinking of "new and ingenious" contraptions that will "revolutionize" firearms. For reference, here's the wiki page: Sons of Guns - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

I've only watched a handful starting this summer and have formulated a rather negative outlook on the show. While the owner probably knows his stuff and a significant portion of the show is a result of making it popular amongst general viewers, I can't help but notice how absurd the show is. While I am by no means a firearms expert, based off the few episodes I watched, I've noticed a few things that I can even call out as absurd:

1: Per "request" from the Baton Rouge sherriff's dept, they take a replica Thompson (which probably costs a hefty amount), replace all the wood components with synthetics, convert it to selective fire and stick a 4 sided rail on it. But why in the hell would you take a 90yr old weapon and try to convert it in this manner when you could just buy a .45 caliber submachine gun like the UMP for probably cheaper? Plus at the end they're pitching the amount of firepower and the high ROF it has. But why would SWAT ever need to empty a full mag of .45ACP into anyone/would the possibly expect to hit anything smaller than the side of a bardyard by using full auto?