PDA

View Full Version : Moth Miller Invasion

RustyBattleship
14 Sep 10,, 05:20
HELP! Our house has become inundated with small moths (commonly called Moth Millers). We have zapped scores of them (and their larvae) with tennis racket shaped bug zappers (puts out 1500 volts with just two D size batteries).

But their numbers are increasing. Most of them are in the kitchen but some fly in front of the TV screen in the living room and some are here in our backroom between me and the monitor.

I've thought of using Moth Balls (Camphor) but not sure if we should place any in the kitchen cupboards that contain cereals, cake mixes, flour, etc. (though all are tightly sealed).

Need an Moth Irradicator expert to give me some advice (I'm a structural engineer, not a chemist or biologist).

YellowFever
14 Sep 10,, 05:55
Rusty, I searched for and found an instructional video for you!

Follow these steps carefully!

bLX1GNzF6hU

RustyBattleship
14 Sep 10,, 17:21
Thanks but no thanks. I'll stick to the bug zapper for now.

Ytlas
14 Sep 10,, 23:03
What about "Bug Bombs?" Home Depot has them

highsea
15 Sep 10,, 02:55
Moths are hard to kill with chemicals. You can get moth traps at Ace Hardware.

Cedar chunks in the cupboards are supposed to be as good as mothballs and non-toxic, but I've never tried it.

A light bulb over a pail of soapy water- moth crashes into bulb and falls into water. Same thing with a candle and a pie tin of water.

RustyBattleship
15 Sep 10,, 07:20
Moths are hard to kill with chemicals. You can get moth traps at Ace Hardware.

Cedar chunks in the cupboards are supposed to be as good as mothballs and non-toxic, but I've never tried it.

A light bulb over a pail of soapy water- moth crashes into bulb and falls into water. Same thing with a candle and a pie tin of water.