Rigged Missiles?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Rigged Missiles?

I have encountered several rumors and claims at several places on the net that, the manufacturers of advanced weapons systems such as missiles and planes place secret self destruct or deactivation means on their products. (Not exploding exocets as an example). While IMO this makes sense at a political-strategic level is it technically possible to deceive the buyers? Or is there any instance of someone knowingly buying such technology accepting its constraints.

Im no expert but I don't buy it.

Comment

Originally posted by TTL View Post
      I have encountered several rumors and claims at several places on the net that, the manufacturers of advanced weapons systems such as missiles and planes place secret self destruct or deactivation means on their products. (Not exploding exocets as an example). While IMO this makes sense at a political-strategic level is it technically possible to deceive the buyers? Or is there any instance of someone knowingly buying such technology accepting its constraints.
      I would buy that in the case of some missle manufactures that work closely with the government as far as a self destruct in some cases (more then likely not sold outside their host country). In some cases a missle cannot be recalled so therefore a fail safe mechanism may be employed but not always and certainly not guaranteed.

As far as planes go. I know military jets carry something simular to destroy valuable data sources and circuitry if the plane crashes or the pilot must eject. These only serve to protect the value of the technology employed onboard.

But I have never heard of a "doomsday" button that would incinirate the aircraft be it military or commercial thus far. Perhaps if there are any Pilots;) on the WAB they may know much more about these features but may not want to disclose that info.
      Fortitude.....The strength to persist...The courage to endure.

Comment