Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• IJN MUTSU - 8th June 1943

Dear all, (My first Post)

I have long been intrigued by the mystery of the Japanese battleship Mutsu’s explosive demise on the 8th June 1943, while lying safe and secure within the main fleet anchorage off Kure.

There are various theories and hypotheses, ranging from an accident connected to the Japanese atomic bomb project, Allied sabotage, suicide of a crewman, and faulty munitions (the simple explanation). There is nothing really definitive and conclusive in any published (English language) work or web site.

Does anyone have any idea were I can finally discover the truth behind this cataclysmic event.

I am an amateur naval enthusiast who has long been fascinated by the life and times of the world’s great capital ships, and despite so much information released over the years and authoritative research conducted by experts, I am still amazed that something like a clear explanation into the reasons behind the loss of the Mutsu should still be so hard to faithfully determine.

Any information, opinions, or views on this subject will be greatly welcome to settle this quest to discover the truth about this event. Is there anything in Japanese (which might have been translated), I have looked but can find nothing.

Regards
    Mike Williams (Edinburgh, UK)