PDA

View Full Version : Why does WAB keep loosing my password?



Canmoore
29 Sep 06,, 22:32
Every now and then when i log in, I get a message that i incorrectly filled my password. However i know that i have correctly filled it in. This has happened to me four times now, i keep the email with my new password in it, but whenever it asks me again that password will not work, and i have to send in for a new one.

Is this standard operation for WAB?

THL
29 Sep 06,, 23:09
<hint> <hint>

;)

TopHatter
30 Sep 06,, 00:20
Every now and then when i log in, I get a message that i incorrectly filled my password. However i know that i have correctly filled it in. This has happened to me four times now, i keep the email with my new password in it, but whenever it asks me again that password will not work, and i have to send in for a new one.

Is this standard operation for WAB?
Not at all, in fact it's never happened to me.

I'll pass this along to Chris and see if he has any info.

texasjohn
30 Sep 06,, 00:48
Not at all, in fact it's never happened to me.

I'll pass this along to Chris and see if he has any info.

Canmoore, does your brower have the allow cookies option enabled?

Archer
30 Sep 06,, 01:29
I get logged out while writing long posts!

leib10
30 Sep 06,, 01:42
I think message boards have an automatic log-out after a period of inactivity. Check your User CP, the option to disable it might be in there.

TopHatter
30 Sep 06,, 02:14
Canmoore, does your brower have the allow cookies option enabled?

That could be part of it.


I get logged out while writing long posts!

According to vBulletin, checking the Remember Me button should prevent that.

(Although I know the very next thing you're going to say is "It's already checked!" :redface: )

Srirangan
30 Sep 06,, 06:05
Every now and then when i log in, I get a message that i incorrectly filled my password. However i know that i have correctly filled it in. This has happened to me four times now, i keep the email with my new password in it, but whenever it asks me again that password will not work, and i have to send in for a new one.

Is this standard operation for WAB?
Cammore,

I use the latest Mozilla Firefox browser. What it does is it keeps all passwords stored in its memory. So I never have to remember any of them, I just keep a copy in Gmail and one in my Mozilla browser.

It is very convinient.

Parihaka
30 Sep 06,, 09:37
I get logged out while writing long posts!
Click "remember me" when logging in. If it is not a secure computer, remember to log out before quiting. If it is a secure computer, just quite and next time you come to the board you will log in automatically, if, as John says above, your computer allows cookies.

Bill
30 Sep 06,, 18:34
The only problem i've ever had at WAB is misquotes, ie, when i hit the quote button(or someone else does), the wrong name appears in the text. That hasnt happened to me in quite a long time though.

Canmoore
01 Oct 06,, 21:27
I use firefox also. I loggin just about every day, so i dont see how it would forget my password.

However there is something wrong with quicktime pluggins on my computer. I have no idea what is wrong with my firefox or IE, or how to fix it. I have deleted firefox and IE and re-downloaded it, however the problem persists. I brought over a friend who is a computer technitcian, and even he doesnt know how to fix it.

Basically what happens is that any picture or multi-media requiring a QT pluggin wont work on my computer. When i use IE then pictures that require a QT pluggin work, however multi-media that requires a QT pluggin still wont work.

However firefox and IE remembers everysingle other password for any other site that requires one. So I dont think that has anything to do with WAB loosing my password every now and then.