Which regiment should i join?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Which regiment should i join?

I am having alot of difficulty making my mind up as to what regiment i want to join. I have alreay made my mind up a long time ago that i want to go armoured. But i cant seem to make my mind up if i want to go with the Royal Canadian Dragoons in pet, or the Lord Strathcona Horse in wainright, alberta.

A big part of me wants to go with the RCD because the majority of my family is in eastern ontario and southern quebec, and all of my friends are in ontario. Plus my best friend is already with 2 RCR in Petewawa.

But another part of me wants to go to wainright, because, well, part of the reasoning for me wanting to join the military is adventure, and seeing things, going to places, that i have never done or been to before.
    I have grown up in southern and eastern ontario, ive seen basically all there is to see here, ive never been out west before. But i dont know anyone in alberta. I have some friends and an uncle in BC. I dont know i guess im just afraid of going into the unkown out there.

Another reasoning is that im not sure if i will like recee with the Dragoons, the strathcona's as you already know have the leo's. I have always wanted to be with the leo's since i was a little boy in Petewawa.

I guess i just need some guidance

Get through recruit course 1st, then decide. You might decide you like engineers.

In all seriousness, there would be heavy competition for the LdSH (RC). You might not be able to get in since it is the only tank regt left and even then, we went from 4 to 2 sqns.

Comment

yeah true.

Comment

if you just want to look around and live well, Western Canada (Alberta, BC) is way better than the east. I know nothing about CF though.
        A grain of wheat eclipsed the sun of Adam !!

Comment