Soft mount design

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Soft mount design

Hi there. I’m new to this forum and I have a few questions I’m hoping some of you might be able to help me out with.

I’m a mechanical engineering student and my final master thesis is to improve the Vinghoeg soft mount for M2 .50 cal HMG and MK 19 / HK GMG 40mm AGLs. This mount is standard in many NATO countries. I’m not sure whether “my” mount is used by the US, but another Vinghoeg mount is standard in the Stryker’s weapon station, and if I come up with something good the Stryker will probably benefit from it too.

Here are a couple of links:

http://www.vinghog.com/N_Products/Mo...tmount_127.htm

http://www.vinghog.com/N_Products/We...nStations.html

I figure this might be a place to find people with user experience, so here’s a couple of questions for any who might be interested:

1 – General input on how HMGs and 40mm AGLs are used in practice. How long bursts, ammo load etc. And another thing: The Stryker's weapon station is fitted with laser range finder, up to 30x zoom and all kinds of goodies, but from what I’ve seen they seem to be used quite a lot in the good old “fire a few bursts and adjust when you see where the bullets land” style.

2 – Experiences/feedback/thoughts on any soft mount systems you’re familiar with: Conditions where they fail, drawbacks, maintenance considerations, accuracy in single and auto fire, ergonomics and generally what you think of them. Are there any features you have missed?

3 - Most mounts for the M2 use just the spade grips as user interface (no shoulder bar as in the Vinghoeg mount). It seems to me that must make the weapon bounce around a lot while firing. Is it possible to use the sights while firing automatic that way?

4 - In my limited experience the M2 has jammed a lot. Possibly as much as once or twice every 100 rounds. I've never used the Mk 19 or HK GMG. Anyone else who has better experiences?